Rising Stars recognized at awards breakfast on April 24

For the second year, the lead-off event at the Great New England Credit Union Show was the Rising Stars Breakfast.  This breakfast showcases the tremendous talent of up-and-coming credit union professionals from throughout Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island.  The candidates are nominated by their credit unions and winners are chosen by an independent panel of experts.

George Chateaunuef of The Warren Group kicked the event off by introducing Daniel F. Egan, Jr, president of the Massachusetts Credit Union League, New Hampshire Credit Union League, and the Credit Union Association of Rhode Island.  Dan began his remarks by saying that it was good to begin the Great New England Credit Union Show on a happy note given the events that had been weighing heavily on all of our minds lately.  He went on to add a heartfelt thank you to the first responders at the Marathon and noted that Boston Firefighters Credit Union, City of Boston Credit Union, and many other credit unions serve many first responders who so ably and bravely dealt with the crisis on Patriots Day and the week that followed.

Dan then introduced Mark Ayers, CPA, whose company Macpage LLC sponsored the breakfast.  Mark underscored how thrilled Macpage was to be the sponsor and that he was looking forward to the event.

Mark then introduced Kevin Walsh, author of The Marrow in Me, Follow the Dog Home, and soon to be released, The Greatest Catch.  Kevin is a sportscaster with Comcast Sportsnet, and has an opportunity to observe many trials and triumphs through his work.  

The recipients then came up to receive their awards.  They expressed their thanks, and indicated how fortunate that they felt to have been given the chance to prove themselves, while being mentored and supported in an atmosphere of service to members.  

The 2013 Rising Stars Award Recipients:

  • Sean Capaloff-Jones, UmassFive College Federal Credit Union
  • Ellen Coughlin, Leominster Credit Union
  • Laura Cummings, AllCom Credit Union
  • Vyrick Eng, Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union
  • Bryce Jackson, Navigant Credit Union
  • Anne Labeta, CPCU Credit Union
  • Traci Michel, Metro Credit Union
  • Elizabeth Mulcahy, Jeanne D’Arc Credit Union
  • Tim Mullen, Bellwether Community Credit Union
  • Mychelle Phillips, Leominster Credit Union
  • Maria Porto, Hanscom Federal Credit Union
  • Joshua Rakiey, Hanscom Federal Credit Union
  • Debra Lee Surface, St. Jean’s Credit Union