National Social Responsibility Recognition Award Programs demonstrate the “Credit Union Difference”

As in past years, the National Recognition Awards Program has a special significance.  But as we move into a new era, one where the credit union industry will be a major player in the political arena, it's more important than ever to recognize that credit unions are unique providers of life-line financial services for millions of working Americans.

Developing and entering your social responsibility project helps your local community -- and its representatives in state and federal government -- better understand the credit union difference.  The greater the understanding of this difference, the greater chance that the credit union tax exempt status will be preserved and accessibility to credit unions guaranteed for all consumers.

Since 1987, the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award has honored credit unions for their charitable works in their communities.  Some credit unions have ongoing programs and establish a special relationship with local social service agencies or school programs.  Other programs address many different needs in the community.  No matter the size or scope of a project, each participating credit union builds its reputation as a good corporate citizen along the way.

Credit unions enter the Dora Maxwell Award program in one of eight asset categories or the chapter/multiple credit unions category.

Beginning in 1990, the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award has commended credit unions that make exceptional efforts to include credit union philosophy in their daily operations and member service.  Programs that provide financial education to particular member groups within the credit union or special assistance to low-income members struggling to pay heating bills, for example, are clear examples of the philosophy that sets credit unions apart from other financial institutions.

Entrants in the Louise Herring Award program compete in four asset categories.

Keys to a Successful Award Entry
• Make your project a unique undertaking
• Explain specific goals (who, what, where, when and how)
• Define measurable outcomes – what will you accomplish to consider the project successful
• Report final result – how did you do compared to projections
• Complete entry form in its entirety
• Provide relevant supplemental information

Send your entry to Donna Bevilacqua, director, communications and community relations, by August 2.  Each submission must be accompanied by a $50 entry fee made payable to CUNA, Inc.  First place winners will advance to the national competition.  National winners will be honored at the Governmental Affairs Conference in Washington, D.C., in 2014. 

Click here to access the National Social Responsibility Recognition Award Program Entry Forms.

By entering the National Social Responsibility Recognition Awards Program, you're accomplishing many goals:  you are helping your community and your members, and showing lawmakers that credit unions are something special -- and should remain that way.

For more information, contact Donna Bevilacqua at 1-800-842-1242 or