League presents $120,000 Check to MA Coalition for the Homeless

On January 23, 2014, the League’s Social Responsibility Committee Chair, Nicole James and League President/CEO Paul Gentile, along with several committee members presented the Coalition’s Executive Director Robyn Frost with a ceremonial check for $120,000 representing the overall donation to the Coalition.  “The Massachusetts Coalition for the Homeless and the families that we serve throughout the year are grateful to the Massachusetts credit unions for the financial support we receive,” stated Robyn when she accepted the check.  She noted, “It is only with the collective generosity from the credit unions that the Coalition can be a place for families and individuals to turn when the unthinkable possibility of becoming homeless happens.”  

Sixty-one credit unions throughout Massachusetts who supported a wide variety of fundraising activities made this donation possible.  The biggest individual contribution came from RTN Federal Credit Union raising more than $31,300 through various initiatives, the largest being the “Walk Home.”  The 2013 “Walk Home” held in three locations on June 1, 2013 raised more than $22,000 as part of the $31,300. 

Hanscom Federal Credit Union continues to be a top donor as well, with a tremendous effort in 2013.  Through the generosity of volunteers, members, and staff, Hanscom Federal Credit Union donated more than $13,500 in total from fundraising activities held at the credit union and additional donations.

League President Paul gentile remarked, “I’m truly impressed at the level of support that Massachusetts credit unions demonstrate for this fine organization.”


Pictured left to right:  Stephen Jones, Jeanne D'Arc Credit Union; Massachusetts Credit Union League Chairman David Surface, St. Jean's Credit Union; Paul Marotta, Hanscom Federal Credit Union; Massachusetts Credit Union League President/CEO Paul Gentile; Robyn Frost, Massachusetts Coalition for the Homeless; Massachusetts Credit Union League Social Responsibility Committee Chair Nicole James, RTN Federal Credit Union; Jon Reske, UMassFive College Federal Credit Union; DebraLee Surface, St. Jean's Credit Union; and David Plantier, MassMutual Federal Credit Union.